"Where’s your will to be weird?"

I used to listen to The Doors. I was fascinated by Jim Morrison, by his songs, his madness and the ever cool one liners: “I am the Lizard King” I think I have watched the movie a thousand times and will always be a devoted fan to Val Kilmer because of his awesome portrayal. I have books, Autobiographies; a collection of his poetry and my most favourite treasured items is a double LP of ‘The American Prayer
Oddly enough, other than a couple of tape cassettes, I only have one CD – the Best of The Doors – I am not even a fan of Best Of… albums.
I remember listening to The End a thousand times, in my bedroom. Doors locked, swaying with my eyes closed.
(in between rewinding and fast forwarding – a now totally alien concept which really makes me feel old)

James Douglas Morrison is on the forefront of my mind right now because of these words:

“This is the strangest life I’ve ever known.”

And these:

There was preserved
in her
The fresh miracle
of
surprise”

And especially these:

She dances in a Ring of Fire and throws off the challenge with a shrug”.

I want this to be me!

Leave a Reply

