Crying over spoilt milk

“Whoever said money can’t buy happiness simply didn’t know where to go shopping.”
Bo Derek

Today I am working on my budget. I have decided to stop the period of denial – I am living beyond my means – it is frightening. Somehow (– and who knows how?) I manage to scrape through each month by the tiniest seam of my pants. I wrote down my every expense, even the shameful extravagant amounts I spend for my sins – cigarettes and booze! And the worst of it, the absolute worst of it was the R1800 spent on my ticket to Joburg because being the dumb ass I am, I booked my ridiculously cheap ticket 3 months in advance the wrong fucking way round! I was in Cape Town scheduled to fly to Cape Town! I am too ashamed to tell a soul. I still remember getting on board, feeling sick and utterly stupid – No matter how many gin and tonics I drank, I kept thinking One Thousand and Eight hundred rand – what have I done wrong in this world to make such a moronic mistake? I forced a smile on my face the whole way there and prayed for a slight dose of amnesia! One day I will laugh, but right now looking at the numbers I need more tequila!!

*One thousand eight hundred rand to fly for two hours up the road as opposed to the three hundred rand ticket I grandly and royally botched up!

Leave a Reply

