Being back…

Dream sequence:
I arrived home, my car heavy with all my belongings – all I owned or needed in the trunk of my car. He saw me arrive through the window – he watched as I got out the car and began unpacking – maybe he wanted confirmation that I had indeed come home. He held the door open for me as I walked in dragging bags and blankets, shoes and bags of sea shells. He smiled and said ‘Welcome back home baby!”

Reality:
I called him from the car park – I hadn’t planned on arriving so late and the lights were out – with a horrible pang of regret, It dawned on me that he might be asleep – I wouldn’t be able to get in – eleven at night and no where to sleep. So I called him. He sounded grumpy when he asked me what I meant by: I am home? I asked him to help me with my bags, a while later he sauntered down the stairs, took some bags off my shoulders – made a couple of remarks along the lines of: What the hell do you have in here?”
Eventually the torture was over – my bags lay strewn all over the flat. I poured myself a glass of wine – suddenly feeing very awkward and cold. He smiled and being a man of very few words sighed “Oh Well…” Then he went to bed. I fell asleep / passed out on the couch and woke up at about three in the morning. It was freezing, it was hell. I went to bed and lying beside him I burst into tears. He didn’t wake up.

3 thoughts on “Being back…

  1. I think Marilyn Munroe once said… They go to bed with my character (XYZ) but they wake up to me. Life would be better lived in fantasy, and I wish that we could re-wind and say exactly what we wanted when we though of it after the fact, and not mumble the stupid utterings that normally come out in exposive/tense/angry situations. I wish I had an inner copywrite, with an explosive dry AK47 wit. Damn reality…we can dream though.

  2. “An inner copywrite, with an explosive dry AK47 wit”

    Wow that would be brilliant – I could do with a bit of “Wake up to reality silly cow!” – played once in a while in my head! Not quite as poignant but I am too frilly in the head!

  3. I’m a copywriter and I can’t even get my thoughts to work properly.

    Maybe if I wrote down the responses I wanted to make, but usually they come out wrong and it’s never how it should be.

Leave a Reply

