Nostalgia

Thank Goodness it is Friday – my head has cleared and finally I am feeling more human!
I have started thinking about what it means to be away from home and away from those I love and cherish more than words can say, I am starting to wonder why I am here…but this could just be a sad bit of nostalgia!
My birthday celebration was fantastic! It was a surprise party, the one where you walk into a deadly silent house only to have your wits scared out of you once everyone leaps out and screams “surprise” In honour of my dark eccentricities the theme was Goth and I was happily welcomed with ” House of Fun” by Madness and then a number of Rock classics. I drank copious amount of champagne in blood red flutes garnished with cherries and ate huge amounts of chocolate cake thoughtfully decorated with black icing and silver stars! It was all just too good to be true!
The gifts were personal, meaningful and mind blowing and ranged from handwritten letters of inspiring words, my most favourite perfumes, whiskey and wine (Which I couldn’t bring myself to bring back to the Cape – having already traveled that distance already) and the most amazing scrapbook from my angel Mom – of my 30 years on this earth! There were tears…
Anyway I am thoroughly blessed, that is all I can say!
nostalgia  [no-stal-juh, -jee-uh, nuh-]
–noun 1. a wistful desire to return in thought or in fact to a former time in one’s life, to one’s home or homeland, or to one’s family and friends; a sentimental yearning for the happiness of a former place or time: a nostalgia for his college days.
2. something that elicits or displays nostalgia.

My lovely dog.

The B day balloons!

The loveliest place in Jozi!

8 thoughts on “Nostalgia

  1. A black cake, wow your bday sounded so funky and special!

    I seem to be the definition of nostalgia at the moment. When I was young I thought things were tough, but now I look back and think they were wonderful!

  2. Sounds like just what you needed to get through that little big three oh challenge – and awesome music too, and nice presents, yay!

    Hope you have a lovely weekend – and we MUST make a plan for drinks soon!!

    P.S. Your dog has the right idea – looks like it understands the true meaning of zen ‘in the moment’… what a nice doggy smile. 🙂

  3. HAD oops the caps. Had a dog exactly like that – Withnail.

    Reflection’s not a bad thing, it helps with perspective. Anyway remembrance ain’t always sentimental and nostalgic so much sweeter when the memories are fond.

    And it looks like you had a birthday for the memoirs.

  4. Thanks Rox – I do love my little dog – she is quite old now and has very few teeth – but a happy little thing all the same!

    302 – What a cool name! I have a vague memory of a British movie I used to love, I think it was Withnail and I (?)

  5. All I seem to remember was a couple of black umbrellas, a theme about the meaningless of life and struggling actors! I must find it again!!

Leave a Reply

