The Year Two Thousand and Fine

New Years Eve was definitely a fantastic, unplanned and spontaneous night! The heart of the city was overflowing with energy and good feeling.  Thankfully I had an evil partner who collaborated on a night of indulgence and mayhem. So all in all the year ended in the new found spirit I want to encapsulate throughout this year- just maybe with a little less recklessness, less drinking and more sleep!

Yesterday I had a very conservative lunch at the wine farm. I spent a good hour staring at swans and drinking a 99 Merlot, pondering the meaning of life and then laughing because I really don’t seem to be behaving in a very logical manner at all these days! It is quite daunting, the realization of all I need to achieve this year. Starting with living on my own again.

I am not doing the resolutions list because I cannot let anything distract me from my biggest goal this year. To finally and for the first and last time GIVE UP SMOKING! I am not that shy little sixteen year old full of angst trying to fit in – I am not that socially awkward little thing desperate to find something to do with my hands. No more excuses.

It looks like Monday will be the official end of the festive season. I am not looking forward to traffic, but I am totally excited about going back to yoga, moving to the city, stepping up my game at work and just enjoying life for a while.

6 thoughts on “The Year Two Thousand and Fine

  1. Aaw, wish I could have been there!

    I think this is going to be a good year for all of us – and it’s a great feeling to have an entire year ahead of us that could hold all sorts of awesome experiences.

    Here’s to two thousand and fine!

  2. sorry missed the rendezvous but i was at newlands by night watching the cape cobras play cricket with venom according to the t-shirt but when the routine returns to cape town i’m sure there’ll be other opportunities.

    you should find some inspiration in lambchop’s album how i quit smoking – it’s a classic but by track 7 or 8 you know you are ready to quit. i’ll bring you a copy if you haven’t got it already.

  3. 302 – That sounds amazing. I think I am going to need all the help I can get! It is going to be like cutting off my arm breaking this nasty habit!

Leave a Reply

