Charles Baudelaire

 I am completely in love with Charles Baudelaire this week. He is so darkly romantic!

Afternoon Song

Though your wicked eyebrows call
Your nature into question
(Unangelic’s their suggestion,
Witch whose eyes enthrall)>

I adore you still –
O foolish terrible emotion –
Kneeling in devotion
As a priest to his idol will.

Your undone braids conceal
Desert, forest scents:
In your exotic countenance
Lie secrets unrevealed.

Over your flesh perfume drifts
Like incense ’round a censor:
Tantalizing dispenser
Of evening’s ardent gifts.

No Philtres could compete
With your potent idleness:
You’ve mastered the caress
That raises dead me to their feet.

Your hips themselves are romanced
By your back and by your breasts:
By your languid dalliance.

Now and then, your appetite’s
Uncontrolled, unassuaged:
Mysteriously enraged,
You kiss me and you bite.

Dark one, I am torn
By your savage ways,
Then, soft as the moon, your gaze
Sees my tortured heart reborn.

Beneath your satin shoe,
Beneath your charming silken foot.
My greatest joy I put
My genius and destiny, too.

You bring my spirit back,
Bringer of the light.
Exploding color in the night
Of my Siberia so black.

350px-baudelaire_signaturkilian3

2 thoughts on “Charles Baudelaire

  1. Wow, hadn’t heard of him before – shall take a listen!

    P.S. Dying to know, how did it go last night? Wait, don’t tell me, will mail ya. 😉

  2. Rox he was an amazing Poet – but be warned he was quite scathing towards women! He has this love / hate, pleasure / pain theme through most of his work! Definitely a man I would like to invite to my legends dinner party

Leave a Reply

