Mope Post

I am very happy that we have MTV playing pretty much all the time at work but sometimes not so lucky. I keep hearing this song being played everywhere; there was something about some of the words that just stuck to me. Until this morning I hadn’t heard the whole song and there is something about watching a music video that somehow brings it all together.

I am very sad after watching this video, actually feeling this big gaping hole in my gut.

Broken Strings – James Morrison Feat Nelly Furtado

Let me hold you
For the last time
It’s the last chance to feel again
But you broke me
Now I can’t feel anything

When I love you
It’s so untrue
I can’t even convince myself
When I’m speaking
It’s the voice of someone else

Oh it tears me up
I tried to hold but it hurts too much
I tried to forgive but it’s not enough
To make it all okay

You can’t play on broken strings
You can’t feel anything
That your heart don’t want to feel
I can’t tell you something that ain’t real

Oh the truth hurts
A lie is worse
I can’t like it anymore
And I love you a little less than before

Oh what are we doing
We are turning into dust
Playing house in the ruins of us

Running back through the fire
When there’s nothing left to save
It’s like chasing the very last train
When it’s too late

Oh it tears me up
I tried to hold but it hurts too much
I tried to forgive but it’s not enough
To make it all okay

You can’t play our broken strings
You can’t feel anything
That your heart don’t want to feel
I can’t tell you something that ain’t real

Oh the truth hurts
And lies worse
I can’t like it anymore
And I love you a little less than before

But we’re running through the fire
When there’s nothing left to say
It’s like chasing the very last train
When we both know it’s too late

You can’t play our broken strings
You can’t feel anything
That your heart don’t want to feel
I can’t tell you something that ain’t real

Oh the truth hurts
And lies worse
I can’t like it anymore
And I love you a little less than before
Oh and I love you a little less than before

Let me hold you for the last time
It’s the last change to feel again

It also sucks that there is Valentine bullshit all over the world!

“Okay lady – please can you stop feeling like a miserable sap today! You have a huge amount of work to do. Your boss is lovely and you need to work hard for him. You are just tired and going to bed at 2am is really doing nothing to help the tirade of emotions hitting you right now with the strength of a gale force wind. Chin up – face the world, you never know what is right around the corner.”

Today will be a good day!

Oh yes – James Morrison is really quite cute! Which is a really good thing, he shares his name with another man I love deeply!

Jim Morrison
Jim Morrison
James Morrison
James Morrison
14 thoughts on “Mope Post

  1. I am also getting pissed off with all the Valentine’s stuff – too much soppiness!!

    This is a very awful song, James Morrison should be avoided during bad times.

    You need to put on your headphones, put on some AC-DC or The Doors, or Motley Crue and zone out that evil mope music!!

  2. You are right Rox! I need to get the bloody words ‘Broken glass’ out my head! There is nothing sadder than broken glass…

  3. My sis is using this song to face up to the sadness, she forces herself to sing along at the top of her voice… luckily usually alone in her car!
    It is a sad sad beautiful song. And Nelly’s voice just about breaks my heart. But you have to go through these feelings my dear, cause after them comes the anger and then the resolve and then the unfettered joy that comes with the realisation that you dodged a bullet.
    Sheesh, I keep writing you essays lately, sorry! xxx

  4. I love your essays! Please never stop 😉 It is a beautiful song – but it didnt really take me to a great place, but like you said maybe one day with resolve, I will hear it and be at peace!

  5. Urgh! Valentines day…it’s not safe to leave your house until they roll out the easter stuff again! 😦

    Hope you’re feeling a bit better now?

  6. Thanks Louisa – much better! I agree, bring on the chocolate eggs, if I see one more chocolate heart with declarations of love I will scream!

  7. That’s a beautiful song and well, yes, the lyrics makes it so very sad. I understand the feelings well. Thanks a million for the encouraging words on my blog the other day. I read some of the older stuff you wrote and well… felt like there were some similar stuff we shared. Hope you are well! (I’m definitely going to the movies and for drinks with my single friends on 14 Feb. To see something totally unromantic. It might help.)

  8. Medio – It is an awful time of year for anyone with a broken heart! I hope you have an awesome anti V day with your friends! Just ensure there is a huge amount of laughter and good smiles around and you will get through it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

