My Oscar

It is going to be a good week. Somehow I was awake bright and early this morning, cleaning my flat, doing a load of washing and getting rid of dirty dishes. It was remarkable how much time I had to myself in those couple of hours; between feeling the chill of the early morning, enjoying the sunrise with a cup of tea and then watching as the light filled up my home and the city warmed up. It is going to be another glorious sparkling warm day.

My parents arrive this afternoon to check out my new space and to have a bit of a holiday by the sea. I know they will love it. I also know my father is going to have a lot to say about the poor, sad, neglected state of my car. One would think that by preempting his distain, I would be better equipped to handle it with patience and maybe a sense of humor, but this is seldom the case.

The chewer has on her desk the biggest bowl of fruit I have ever seen and whilst I commend her on healthy eating, I can only shudder in anticipation of the sounds that will soon fill this room!

It is going to be a very different kind of week with Parents and the many dinner reservations, then during the day, a full week of training on a new system of sorts. I love all day training sessions, learning new things.

 I do so love a break from the routine!

 

Right now it is impossible to escape news of the Oscars – but I rather prefer this Oscar:

 “It is absurd to divide people into good and bad. People are either charming or tedious.”

“A man who moralizes is usually a hypocrite, and a woman who moralizes is invariably plain.”

“Women are meant to be loved, not to be understood.”

“There is no sin except stupidity.”

“To be good, according to the vulgar standard of goodness, is obviously quite easy. It merely requires a certain amount of sordid terror, a certain lack of imaginative thought, and a certain low passion for middle-class respectability.”

“Consistency is the last refuge of the unimaginative.”

OSCAR WILDE

6 thoughts on “My Oscar

  1. I was meant to wake up at the crack of dawn to work, but the earliest I could manage was 7ish. I am battling to wake up lately, possibly because my days are so endless and monotonous – there is very little break in the monotony at all.

    Hope you have a great week with your parents down – while you should probably skip the usual Hood / Patron impresser – a few drinks at the Radisson will wow them for sure!

  2. Thanks Rox! lol – Radisson is first on the agenda! Sorry about the monotony – I know it can get pretty tedious. 😦

  3. ‘i’ve nothing to declare but my genius’

    i’m sure you’ll have a good week with your folks – give them the DT underground tour of CT

  4. Oooh 302 – I love that one! For the life of me I cant remember if it was Lennon or Morrison that used that one getting on a plane…?

    lol – I think I may have to up the ante on this tour!

  5. Um your place sounds so good that I want a holiday there too.

    That post about goodness really got me thinking. Am i like that? Definitely a little bit.

  6. Po – I too am dying for a holiday here – work in-between all the good stuff takes its toil!
    Hehe – Oscar Wilde just loves justifying being bad – hence the attraction 🙂

Leave a Reply

