We only come out at night…

Oh dear -dancing in Camps Bay! I woke up on Monday with sore feet, a stamp on my arm, a blonde on my couch and a bottle of Absolut on the table.

It was one hell of a weekend!

I met an unbelievably fascinating man who spoke to me for a very long time about tango, a crazy Australian with a rather large tattoo with the words ‘Seek and destroy’. Shame poor bugger thought it would be a good idea at the age of 19 – he can’t wear a shirt without the words sticking out on either side of his neck, so of course everyone who meets him for the first time, automatically tries to pull apart his shirt – I can only imagine the countless glances of disappointment he receives when the poetic brilliance is revealed! Then there was a polo player from Chilli. He brought me a drink and told me many things; problem was I couldn’t understand a word he was saying! And that was just Sunday night…

Friday was the night with the surfer, who doesn’t drink – so of course I let him drive, only to then watch in horror as he reversed my car into the back of a Peugeot. I left a pink posit on the window and gave many apologies. I was reunited with my once estranged cousins in Camps Bay – Drank a little something dangerous called a Rock Star mojito with a rock star price. Saturday was a day at the beach. Beautiful weather and beautiful people.  A change of clothing a couple of hours later and then it was time to dance. We took a taxi and arrived in tiny dresses, it may have been my final moment of grace.  There was so much patron being drunk they ran out!  Somehow, someway we met a group of guys with a table overflowing with vodka and red bull. Vodka in an ice bucket… then being poured down my throat! For reasons I haven’t yet figured out, one venue is never quite enough and when all is said and done and bright lights force partygoers out – there is always that place for a tasteless burger and bad service – that never seems to close. 

For some time I have been contemplating a type of merger between DT and the real me.  Many of the people I have met recently have got to know me through my blog and the strange thing is that I somehow don’t feel as though everything is actually happening to me, but rather to DT – almost a parallel universe and any minute now I will wake up, in a two bedroom home, with the man next to me, crying into my pillow because of wrong choices. But that isn’t going to happen.

I am these words, I am this page. This is me and this IS my life.

I am so very blessed to have a wonderful friend like Roxilla. She has come to know the real me after knowing DT and has been very supportive in this new ‘endeavour / type / thing’ of mine. Slowly things are going to start evolving in my life!

Another lady who has broken the divide between anonymity and real life is the Lovely Redframe – check out her awesome new blog: Modelmental! The girl has skills!

8 thoughts on “We only come out at night…

  1. I havent really met any Cape Town bloggers that read my blog (except Superficial girl -who I knew before i started blogging)

    Sounds like life is interesting for you at the moment 🙂

  2. Grr. Premature commentation.

    I’ll continue: I like to keep the picket fence between blog and real life as intact as possible. It doesn’t always work, but it will get you into trouble at some point if you open the gate.

    I have decided to live vicariously through you now. My mate got married two months ago, so he’s right out of the equation now. Incidentally, he’s a Chilean polo player.

  3. Yay for a wild, wild weekend! I’m jealous!
    I don’t even know where I last saw my dancing shoes…
    I have a feeling DT is here to stay, and I think it’s a wonderful thing.
    Mwah.

  4. Brazen – are you not coming to the blog awards?

    6000 – It is pretty scary stuff – but I think the line is confusing me somewhat!
    Live vicariously through little old me – now that is something I have never heard before – aw shucks I am so chuffed! 🙂
    It’s always a bummer when the party friends get hitched – I was almost nearly one of them…

    Thanks ModelM! Wild it was, but my dancing shoes were somewhat inefficient – my feet are still killing me!

  5. We all need an ‘alter ego’ of sorts, and maybe DT gives you the oomph and energy to live the way you are BOTH meant to live.

    This is just the start of two thousand and shine chick, you are still blossoming into the well-rounded lady you pretty much have been all along, you just needed the right setting. 🙂

    The city is bringing everything together, and now you can truly shine!

    P.S. I don’t think I could have made it through my hurdles lately without your wonderful positive spirit, you are a very inspiring chick!

  6. It is more than a pleasure lovely Rox!! Just keep me dosed up on your wicked sense of humor!!! That and Pina Coloda’s and we will do just fine!!

Leave a Reply

