Breathe – my continuation of a love affair with a purple yoga mat

For quite some time I had a bit of an internal battle with myself and my abilities in the yoga class. My body felt heavy and unyielding. I attributed this blame on one of the newer instructors. I found her classes where too much a platform for her to express her opinions and viewpoints. I found that instead of providing encouragement, we were regarded as ballooned, ignorant ego’s, that needed to be humbled in order to find enlightenment. I had too many teachers like that in high school. I respond much better to positive reinforcement – rather than manipulative persuasion from holier than thou experts. In yoga, I especially felt this offensive. In my still young learnings, what I have started to value the most – is self love – being easy on yourself – being filled with love and gratitude for who you are and what you can achieve. It is a gentle lesson, one of love and respect and then, you know what…spread it around thereafter. It is easy to bash, criticize, make someone feel inept. To taunt or bully, evoking a reaction. How awesome it is to rather inspire, encourage, feed that little defiance of gravity that raises someone’s chin!

Well there are those instructors that do just that: inspire and teach. They say; “Try it, you never know” “and “For this last second stretch your leg up higher than you ever have before” and then  “Breath.” Last night I attended such a class, for the first time in a long time, I understood a bit more about the layers, the complexity, the eternal and ever changing learning process of yoga. There are so many discoveries that one can make, once a focus can be maintained and a stillness in mind achieved – even be it for a few seconds – it becomes such an awesome gift. After such a class one can only drop your head to the ground in gratitude, in awe, in love.

I have also made a solemn vow – to not direct any more of my frustration on a new teacher – I am sure she too will find her way.

Namaste

namaste

12 thoughts on “Breathe – my continuation of a love affair with a purple yoga mat

  1. I agree. I initially felt so much internal frustration with yoga and pilates.
    Changing your attitude helps so much…. a valuable life lesson! 😉
    Now I just relax and do my best, letting my body decide where it’s willing to go that day.

  2. Thanks for your comment Ani. You are very right, I think Yoga requires quite a different approach and if your head is in the right space, it gives so much back. 🙂

  3. I am anything but lazy – cheeky 😉 Actually I think it is time you did a class with me – then you can see for yourself!

  4. Brazen – you do , you do! Most places have an introductory special – you can always give it bash and see if it is for you or not!

    Chris – nah not you! You work harder than most people I know! 🙂

  5. I am good Chris – well it is Friday – so I am actually pretty spectacular! I hope you are having a lovely relaxing day at home! (turning green as I type 😉 )

  6. Furious – livid – seeing red – smokin’ angry without the cigarette! 😛

    All good now! Maybe I needed an explosion…

Leave a Reply

