Never to be Forgotten

I am in Hout Bay with one of my oldest friends. All around me there are views of the mountain and sea. I needed a bit of a breather away from the city, the crowds. Christmas flew by in a whirlwind. It was an emotional one. All missed my uncle and an sms sent from his dazzling daughter had us all rather tearful. Moonbeam I know you will read this – you touched us all and you were all greatly missed.

It is tough to write, to put words to the year that was. So many firsts. The big test: Can I actually do this? On my own, my own terms? I did it. I didn’t go home – I made a new home, found angels in friends, and was bewitched and bedazzled by the city. Watched as the summer sun shook us all awake, seduced by the excitement in the air.

There is so much I have questioned – poorly developed ideas and notions about who I am and what I like and dislike – thrown into the wind. Where I think preconceived notions should probably all go…

I have no idea what is about to happen. I know I want to achieve more. In front of me there are the most marvellous stepping-stones, lovingly placed by this woman whose face I didn’t recognise at the start of this year – I look at her now in the mirror and I have to admit I am quite proud.

Okay I think I am ready… farewell 2009 ,it has been truly life changing.

Old Long Syne, by James Watson

Should Old Acquaintance be forgot,
and never thought upon;
The flames of Love extinguished,
and fully past and gone:
Is thy sweet Heart now grown so cold,
that loving Breast of thine;
That thou canst never once reflect
on Old long syne.

On Old long syne my Jo,
in Old long syne,
That thou canst never once reflect,
on Old long syne.

My Heart is ravisht with delight,
when thee I think upon;
All Grief and Sorrow takes the flight,
and speedily is gone;
The bright resemblance of thy Face,
so fills this, Heart of mine;
That Force nor Fate can me displease,
for Old long syne

2 thoughts on “Never to be Forgotten

  1. We are proud of you to more than you’ll know. A woman blossoms in her 30ties well unless she’s French then in her 40ties. You’re blossoming!

    And there were many to not be forgotten moments but perhaps this for me was the most memorable, particularly given the courage that it required and I was close enough to see it happen. To quote Murakami: ‘Quitting smoking was like a symbolic gesture of farewell to the life I used to lead.’

    There were other stuff as well but time to look forward, here’s hoping that 2010 treats you super, terrifically, fabulously, well!

  2. Thanks Robin. Love the quote: ‘Quitting smoking was like a symbolic gesture of farewell to the life I used to lead.’ Perfect.

Leave a Reply

